Coaches Top 25 Thoughts & Notes

With the release of the USA Today Coaches’ Poll, college football is finally here. I figured I’d take the opportunity to share some thoughts on what I think about the extremely over-hyped preseason poll.

USA Today Coaches' Poll

First of all, as an Oregon alumnus and fan, I’m very excited to see the Ducks third. Let’s just get that out of the way. You may have your reasons why they shouldn’t be there. You can send me all the reasons why they suck. But as a fan, I’m pretty dang excited about seeing my team in the top 5 to start the season.

It’s the highest starting position in the polls for Oregon, who made it to their first BCS Championship game last year. They return six offensive starters, including Heisman runner-up LaMichael James and five defensive starters. The Ducks started at number 11 last year, ascended to the top spot and finished third. From a true fan standpoint, I hope they can stay in the top five all season long.

Can the Oregon Ducks make it to a third straight BCS game in 2011?

As for the rest of the group. Once again the SEC is the top conference of the preseason poll, claiming two of the top five spots (Alabama-2, LSU-4) and eight selections total. A very impressive feat for the often debated, best conference in the nation. While I hate to say that, it’s hard to argue with their results. They have won the last five national championships. The Big-12 came in second with five selections in the top 25, not too shabby for a conference that almost wasn’t.

Of course, if you’re like me, you’ll read a lot of articles debating this poll from now until the start of the season. That’s just one of the perks of releasing the first human poll a month before anything truly debatable starts to happen. For me, I’m surprised about how far Aurburn fell after last year’s championship run. I guess they really took advantage of the talented they had (*paid for). They did lose most of last year’s roster and only return three starters on either side of the ball. But don’t count them out. They started last year at 23 and will have a talented runner in the backfield once again with sophomore Michael Dyer.

Notre Dame Jr. WR Michael Floyd

Notre Dame is back in the preseason top 25 for the first time since 2009. I hope you all enjoy the weeks of discontent while everyone is complaining about their deals that automatically qualify them for a BCS game if they rank at such and such, blah, blah, blah, I’m already tired of it.

Texas A&M is a new face to the preseason poll. They’re in at number nine for their first preseason selection since 2007 and a big jump from their 2010 finish (21).  As a fan of a Pac-10 err 12 team, I’m excited to see if some of the Pac’s four teams in the “others receiving votes” category can earn some respect for the conference and move into the poll this September.

So there, this is just a few thoughts as we get things underway. I hope to continue providing my loyal readers (Hi Mom!) with more of my thoughts as the season continues. So feel free to check back in.

This entry was posted in General Sports and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

