Have You Heard the One About…

~June 10th~

Happy Birthday Joey

After doing a little bit of research, I found that my birth, is quite possibly one of the most influential things to happen on this day in history. It might be a bit self-conceded, but seriously, the first class of the United States Naval Academy students graduated on this day? I got to be cooler than that.

Okay, Alcoholics Anonymous was founded on this day in 1935. I guess that’s something good. And sure, there were some pretty gnarly events that happened in wars more than half a century ago, but I still contend that I rank among the greats for this day.

Uber gorgeous and fellow Gemini, Kate Upton (Getty Images)

In a glance, I share this fabulous birthday with scientists (Henry Darcy, French scientist – 1803), celebrities (Judy Garland, American musical actress – 1922), athletes (Dan Fouts, American Football Player – 1951) and my new favorite, Kate Upton(American Model/Extreme Hottie – 1992).

I’ve always liked June 10th for a birthday. It’s a summer birthday, which always makes for fun birthday parties. When I was in school, it always marked the start of summer break. And, it’s about half-way through the calendar year. Which means with Christmas, I’m getting presents about every six months.

As another year of my life comes to a conclusion, I’d like to take a moment to reflect on the happenings of the past year. Here is a compilation of some of the crazy/wonderful/interesting/disturbing things that have happened since I turned 27, one year ago.

Little Miss Evelyn

  • I’ve spent time in four different countries, two continents and both hemispheres. With that, I also spent way too much time confined to a cramped seat, 30,000 feet above the earth.
  • I met, for the very first time, my most favorite pseudo-niece, miss Evelyn Barnes.

    Ouchie

  • I watched my little brother get married to a beautiful young lady. And if she ever hurts him….oh you don’t even want to know.
  • Got suckered into a “day job.”
  • Broke my nose.
  • Found love.
  • Spent another EPIC Labor Day weekend at Ten Mile Lake, but for the first time had to save a friends life. He fell from 30 feet. In the middle of the night. In an extremely isolated area. But hey, he’s okay.
  • Helped my best friend start-up an online broadcast company for Lewis & Clark College. It’s called PioStream. Check it out.

    Joshua Tree National Park

  • Lost love.
  • Won the annual “Game Before the Game” flag-football match. Only cost me a torn rotator cuff.
  • Moved out of my parent’s house…mostly.
  • I traveled a little bit more. Road trip to Montana. Road trip to Joshua Tree.
  • Got my first “official” ticket from a cop.
  • Saw a friend head off to the Army (We’ll miss you DD).

This is just a small list of the many things that have happened in the last year. I’m 28, we all knew my memory was already spotty at best. It’s not getting any better folks. If you know me and remember something I missed, feel free to post it.

Life’s a blur, even with a healthy memory. Of course, you should “carpe diem,” but don’t forget the reason you’re doing it. To me, life is about the stories you tell. So make them good ones. Whether it’s a wild and crazy night that no one will believe, or it’s the good Samaritan act that tugs at the heart strings, make your life a story that’s worth retelling.

Thanks to everyone to helped make my last 365 days on this orbiting rock, some of the best days of my life. I hope the times were just as much fun for you. Here’s to another year of health, wealth, happiness, family, friends, love and stories. Lots and lots of stories.

This entry was posted in Filler and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

